The Three Phases of a Chess Game

The game of chess seems complex when you first begin learning how to play. Although there are many aspects of the game to learn, you will have a greater understanding of how to play successfully once you get a handle on the three phases of chess, and what’s important during each phase.

Dividing the chess game into phases simplifies the game while giving you as a player three areas in which to study and prepare for a victory.

Phase One: The Chess Opening

During the opening of your chess game, you and your opponent will make approximately six to eight moves. Each player’s goal during the opening should be to establish a battle front that will enable him to enter the middle of the game with confidence.

The usual opening will consist of several strategies which are listed below:

1. Gain ground on both sides through development of your pieces to powerful squares.

2. Develop towards the center four squares to get the upper hand for future plays.

3. Develop Knights (preferably before Bishops).

4. Prevent your opponent from opening a file on your King

5. Castle to protect your King

6. Set up a strong defense

Although the opening may not seem as important as other aspects of the game, it is not to be taken lightly. Your opening moves will set the stage for the remainder of the game, and should be thought through carefully.

Continued at Three Phases of a Chess Game.

Leave a Comment